Muesli

I’ve been making my own home-made muesli for a while now, and I’d never go back to the supermarket stuff. It’s quick, easy, healthy, and most importantly, it tastes delicious! I also find that if I have a bowl topped up with yoghurt and blue berries, I’m not hungry until lunchtime, meaning no naughty snacking in-between meals.

I choose to add yoghurt raisins, cranberries and raisins, but you can add whatever dried fruit or nuts/seeds that take your fancy.

Give it a go, I guarantee you’ll love it!

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups rolled oats
  • 2 ½ cups wheat germ
  • 1 ½ cups bran flakes (see here if you’re confused)
  • ½ slivered almonds
  • ½ pumpkin seeds
  • ½ sunflower seeds
  • 2 Tbsp sesame seeds
  • ½ honey
  • ½ Rice Bran oil (or Grapeseed or similar)
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 ½ coconut thread
  • ½ raisins
  • ½ dried cranberries
  • ½ yoghurt covered raisins

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 160C. Line two oven trays (with sides) with baking paper.
  2. Mix rolled oats, wheat germ, bran flakes, almonds and the seeds together in a large bowl
  3. Microwave the honey for 30 seconds or until runny
  4. In a jug, stir together the runny honey, oil and vanilla essence
  5. Pour liquid mixture over the dry ingredients and mix until well incorporated (I use my hands to ensure thorough mixing)
  6. Transfer mixture onto the two baking trays and spread out
  7. Bake for 10 mins (swapping the trays over at half way)
  8. Stir through the thread coconut and cook for another 10 mins (swappying trays again)
  9. Remove from oven and allow to cool completely.
  10. When cold mix in the dried fruit and yoghurt raisins.
  11. Enjoy with fresh yoghurt (I recommend passionfruit) and milk
What do you think?

