A graceful heartbreak

The only place I want to be

It always had to come to an end. I’m so glad that I got to live here for two months and fulfill that part of my dream. However as I fly away from Paris, sitting in the window seat for the first time ever, I can’t stop the tears from falling down the face as I know this is where I want to be, but will forever have my heart torn between location, sensibility, reality and loved ones.ย I don’t know if I’ll truly be able to live here again, not in the same context anyway.

I never thought I could be so in love with somewhere, even though I have no friends or family. I’ve learnt that I’m my own best friend, and am happy the most when on my own.

I’ve never loved anywhere like I love Paris. I was asked by someone who’s spent their whole life there and takes it for granted to put into words why I love to Paris so much and what makes it so great in my eyes. It’s a really hard thing to do. For me it’s more of a feeling.

If I had to choose one word to describe my city it would be ‘Grace’. Paris is graceful in so many ways. You can feel such a vast history when walking her wide streets. It can be busy with people but still feel quiet and airy. She’s proud, she’s been through so much but she stands tall, strong, proud and forgiving. She’s graceful and I’m so proud of my beautiful city.

What do you think?

